Contact Us

226A Hewitt Union
SUNY Oswego
Phone: 315-312-3263
Fax: 315-312-5458

Archived Posts

Form Object

Reminder Message: Dr. Nuala McGann Drescher Leave Program

July 15, 2014

Dear Colleagues:

The deadlines for the 2014-2015 Dr. Nuala McGann Drescher Leave Program have now been set.
The deadlines are as follows:
October 8, 2014 for leaves in the Spring 2015 Semester
March 4, 2015 for leaves in the Fall 2015 Semester
October 7, 2015 for leaves in the Spring 2016 Semester
Information about this Joint Labor/Management Program can be found at:


“The Dr. Nuala McGann Drescher Affirmative Action/Diversity Leave Program enhances employment opportunities for people who are preparing for permanent or continuing appointments with preference given to minorities, women, employees with disabilities, or an employee with military status. The Affirmative Action/Diversity Committee seeks to promote a broad diversity of award recipients.


The types of support available include: payment of employee’s regular salary by the campus; salary for a replacement; and other related expenses for research or study with a justification.”


Lori Nash

President, UUP, Oswego Chapter

An Update on Salary Increases from Statewide UUP President Fred Kowal

June 16, 2014

Dear Colleagues,

The 2011-2016 Agreement between UUP and the State of New York provides for the following salary increases and discretionary awards in 2014.

UUP bargaining unit members will receive a 2% salary increase on July 1 (calendar year and college year employees) or September 1 (academic year employees).

An additional $250 will be added to base salary (pro-rated for part time employees) through the Chancellor’s Power of SUNY Award, to be paid no later than December 31, 2014. At this time we do not know the exact date this payment will be made. It will be retroactive to July 1, 2014 or September 1, 2014, depending on the employee’s professional obligation. Employees who worked at least one semester during the 12-month period commencing July 1, 2013 and whose employment expires prior to July 1, 2014 shall be eligible for the payment if they are reemployed and active on the payroll on the effective date of payment.

The Part-Time Employees Contract Fast Facts document at the following link provides information about the pro-rata formula for distribution of the $250 base increase to part-time employees 0.5% of payroll will be allocated to Discretionary Salary Awards (DSA), to be distributed at the discretion of campus presidents. DSA will not be added to base salary. It will be paid no later than December 31, 2014. On each campus a specific portion of the DSA pool will be earmarked for part-time employees.

In Solidarity,